How RTÉ Is Run

RTÉ Board | Term of Membership

On 4th November 2014 Minister for Communications, Energy and Natural Resources, Alex White nominated, Moya Doherty as Chair to serve alongside four newly appointed Ministerial nominees; Frank Hannigan, Deborah Kelleher, PJ Mathews, Anne O'Leary.

Mr Fergus Armstrong was also reappointed to the Board. In addition, the recently elected RTÉ staff representative, Mr Aengus Mac Grianna, was appointed by Government. RTÉ director-general Noel Curran is also a member of the Board. 

On the 17th of February four board members, nominated by the Joint Oireachtas Committee on Transport and Communications were appointed; Fionnuala Sheehan, Margaret E Ward, Shane Naughton, Pádraig Ó Céidigh. 

Member First Appointed Term-End Date
Moya Doherty 4/11/2014 3/11/2017
Fergus Armstrong* 4/11/2014 3/11/2017
Deborah Kelleher 4/11/2014 3/11/2017 
Noel Curran **  1/11/2011 31/1/2018
Frank Hannigan  4/11/2014 3/11/2019 
Dr PJ Matthews 4/11/2014 3/11/2019 
Anne O'Leary  4/11/2014 3/11/2019 
Aengus MacGrianna *** 4/11/2014 3/11/2019
Fionnuala Sheehan  17/2/2015 16/2/2020
Margaret Ward 17/2/2015 16/2/2020
Shane Naughton  17/2/2015 16/2/2020
Pádraig Ó Céidigh 17/2/2015 16/2/2020

***RTÉ Staff representative* Reappointed for a second term on 4 November 2014

**Reappointed for a second term on 1 February 2014