Dan Hegarty - The Alternative

    RTE 2fm: Monday - Thursday (1am) & 2XM (10am to 1pm)

    Dan Hegarty - The Alternative Wednesday 27 August 2014


    Dan Hegarty - The Alternative

    The Alternative To Sleep! Alt Rock, Metal, Hip-Hop, Reggae, Electro, plus the RTE 2fm studio sessions, & live music from across Europe.


    It's hard not to ignore a band when they describes its sounds as “Kinda Krautrock meets Bowie in Berlin jamming with Stereolab, Massive Attack, Goldfrapp & Kraftwerk.” They've released extremely catchy singles like 'Goodbye Goodbye Goodbye', which could easily cause you to wear out your shoe from tapping your foot along to (songs like this should come with a health warning). After much deliberation, the members of Tiny Magnetic Pets have come up with this week's Five-Track Shuffle.





    That titanic duo known as Royal Blood have brought us their debut album. The self-titled record is short, but gripping in every way. These guys really do make their influences sound wafer-thin and wimpy!



    What a wonderful surprise ‘Time Is Over One Day Old’ by Bear In Heaven was when I had the pleasure of first listening to it. Perhaps the best way to describe it is; beautiful music with an edge. You’ll need to listen to this one as soon as possible!


    Forget debut of the year, Benjamin Booker’s self-titled album is a serious contender for album of 2014. I don’t make statements like this often, but it’s been on play mode almost continuously for the past seven or eight days. Catch him at The Electric Picnic if you can.





    The brilliant debut solo album from Rob Sonic celebrates in tenth anniversary next month. It won’t get the fanfare that many albums have received when they reached this milestone, but it certainly deserves it. ‘Telecatessen’ is a fantastic album in many ways; it takes a different approach to Hip Hop that still sounds decidedly fresh even today. Dan features tracks from the album all this week.



    Playlist - The Alternative (with Dan Hegarty) – Wednesday, August 27


    Outkast – ‘Ms. Jackson’
    John Grant – ‘Black Belt’
    The Garden Twins – ‘We Be Grindin’
    Folk Implosion – ‘Natural One’
    2:54 – ‘Orion’
    Villagers – ‘Down, Under The Sea’
    Daithi (Feat: Danny O’Reilly) – ‘In Flight’
    Dropkick Murphy – ‘I’m Shipping Up To Boston’
    Sex Pistols – ‘Pretty Vacant’
    The Altered Hours – ‘Sweet Jelly Roll’
    SBTRKT (Feat: Ezra Koenig) – ‘NEW DORP. NEW YORK.’
    Stanley Odd – ‘By Way Of Explanation’
    Royal Blood – ‘Careless’
    Nirvana – ‘In Bloom’
    The Muppet Babershop Quartet – ‘Smells Like Teen Spirit’
    School Of Seven Bells – ‘Put Your Sad Down’

    Hour 2:

    Daft Punk – ‘Robot Rock’
    Tomas Barfod – ‘Busy Baby’
    Prince – ‘Controversy’
    Reid – ‘Standing By’
    Awkward I – ‘Rock Stars’
    Smashing Pumpkins – ‘1979’
    North Atlantic Oscillation – ‘August’
    James Vincent McMorrow – ‘When I Leave’
    Tiny Magnetic Pets – ‘Shortwaves’

    Tiny Magnetic Pets’ Five-Track Shuffle:
    David Holmes – ’69 Police’
    Moby – ‘Why Does My Heart Feel So Bad?’
    Visage – ‘Fade To Gray’
    David Bowie – ‘Queen Bitch’
    Kate Bush – ‘The Man With The Child In His Eyes’

    UNKLE – ‘Lonely Soul’

    Hour 3:

    Oasis – ‘Up In The Sky’
    Benjamin Booker – ‘Chippewa’
    King Curtis & The Kingpins – ‘Whole Lotta Love’
    Scala & Kolacny Brothers – ‘Bittersweet Symphony’
    Red House Painters – ‘Grace Cathedral Park’
    Sinkane – ‘New Name’
    Bat For Lashes – ‘Siren Song’
    Rob Sonic – ‘Telicatessen’
    The Invisible – ‘Generational’
    Courtney Barnett – ‘Avant Gardener’
    Girl Band – ‘De Bom Bom’
    Rage Against The Machine – ‘Snakecharmer’
    Rage Against The Machine – ‘Bulls On Parade’
    Cat Dowling – ‘Somebody Else’
    Ride – ‘Leave Them All Behind’

    Dan Hegarty - The Alternative

    Latest Show

    Programme Archive

    Dan Hegarty - The Alternative on Twitter

    Presenter: Dan Hegarty

    Schedule Open Schedule