Dan Hegarty - The Alternative

    RTE 2fm: Monday - Thursday (1am) & 2XM (10am to 1pm)

    Dan Hegarty - The Alternative Wednesday 20 August 2014


    Dan Hegarty - The Alternative

    The Alternative To Sleep! Alt Rock, Metal, Hip-Hop, Reggae, Electro, plus the RTE 2fm studio sessions, & live music from across Europe.





    If you ever came across the explosive sound of Davila 666, you’ll love A.J. Davila’s new album ‘Terror Amor’. He formerly of that band has released one of the best albums of 2014 thus far.


    The enduring Opeth are back with a new album. ‘Pale Communion’ is definitely one of their best. They know exactly when to crank things up, and slow things down. The Swedish titans take another step forward in their quest for the perfect combination of Prog Rock, Classic Rock, and Metal.


    JJ are also from Sweden, but that’s about all they have in common with Opeth! The word ‘mysterious’ seems to be following them around quite a bit purely because they were low key about their identity. They have thrown all sorts of sounds into their third album ‘V’, which takes you into their world – a fascinating adventure.





    Released in 2004, ‘Trouble In Paradise saw BJ Cole collaborate with an assortment of guests. It saw him reprise his teaming with Luke Vibert (Wagon Christ, Plug, etc.) It’s a strange and wonderful concoction of sounds that never really received as much acclaim as it deserved.


    Playlist - The Alternative (with Dan Hegarty) – Wednesday, August 20


    Jungle – ‘Time’
    Toy – ‘Endlessly’
    2:54 – ‘Orion’
    A House – ‘Endless Art’
    Aftercare – ‘Auburn Breeze’
    Thin Lizzy – ‘Jailbreak’
    Royal Blood – ‘Careless’
    Bush – ‘Letting The Cables Sleep’ (Nightmares On wax Remix)
    Au Revior Simone – ‘Love You Don’t Know Me’
    Will de Burca – ‘Big Picture’
    The Happy Mondays – ‘God’s Cop’
    Benjamin Booker – ‘Wicked Waters’
    Ben Lee – ‘Cigarettes Would Kill’
    Ben Howard – ‘End Of The Affair’

    Hour 2:

    Radiohead – ‘Everything In Its Right Place’
    Atoms For Peace – ‘Default’
    The Casanova Wave (Feat: In The Willows) – ‘Colours Burst’
    Phil Lynott – ‘Dear Miss Lonely Hearts’
    AJ Davila – ‘Nena Botella’
    Therapy? – ‘Screamager’
    Royal Blood – ‘Loose Change’
    Jeff Buckley – ‘Lilac Wine’
    James Vincent McMorrow – ‘Post Tropical’
    Lir – ‘The Drama Group’
    BJ Cole (Feat: Bent) – ‘Alert The sax Police’
    Hauer – ‘Merc I’
    Ghost Maps – ‘The Ocean And A Lover’
    Hidden Orchestra – ‘Flight’

    Hour 3:

    The National – ‘Bloodbuzz Ohio’
    Tricky – ‘Overcome’
    Tricky – ‘Bonnie & Clyde’
    Serge Gainsbourg & Brigitte Bardot – ‘Bonnie & Clyde’
    JJ – ‘Dead & Me’
    Woodstar – ‘Dumb Punk Song’
    Jack White – ‘High Ball Stepper’
    Onra – ‘My Comet’
    Petite Noir – ‘Disappear’
    Beck – ‘E-Pro’
    Laura Marling – ‘Sorry’
    Jape – ‘Phil Lynott’
    Royal Blood – ‘Out Of The Black’
    Opeth – ‘Cusp Of Eternity’
    Kerbdog – ‘Sorry For The Record’

    Dan Hegarty - The Alternative

    Latest Show

    Programme Archive

    Dan Hegarty - The Alternative on Twitter

    Presenter: Dan Hegarty

    Schedule Open Schedule