Dan Hegarty - The Alternative

    RTE 2fm: Monday - Thursday (1am) & 2XM (10am to 1pm)

    Dan Hegarty - The Alternative Thursday 6 February 2014


    Dan Hegarty - The Alternative

    GOSSIP LIVE FROM SWITZERLAND BURRIED TREASURE FEATURING: 'A GRAND LOVE STORY' BY KID LOCO The Alternative To Sleep! Alt Rock, Metal, Hip-Hop, Reggae, Electro, plus the RTE 2fm


    A blend of soul, gospel, rock, funk, disco, punk, passion and rebellion; Gossip is comprised of vocalist Beth Ditto, guitarist Nathan Howdeshell, and drummer Hannah Blilie. Originally formed in Olympia, Washington in 1999, Gossip first garnered attention in this part of the world with the release of their 2006 breakthrough album ‘Standing In the Way of Control’, and they have been in the spotlight ever since. 


    Recorded by SRF – DRS 3 (Switzerland) for Eurosonic.




    ‘Emmaar’ is album number six from Mali’s Tinariwen, and continues from where they left off with 2011’s ‘Tassili’. The desert blues sound still has echoes of Hendrix in parts, and remains adventurous and hypnotic throughout. A special album from a band that have had to endure more than many others can comprehend.

    Clocking in at 38 minutes, The Revellions bring us ‘Give It Time’. These guys don’t hang about as you might gather; they bring us an avalanche of guitars and attitude. This description has been used many times before, but it really fits here. Dublin residents may recognise the Record Store from days past, which is the main feature on the album’s art work.

    When Broken Bells released their debut album in 2010, it was unclear whether this was a one-off venture for The Shins’ James Mercer, and Danger Mouse. ‘After The Disco’ proves that it thankfully wasn’t, but the real mystery is where these two busy individuals found the time to record this album! Where ever, and how ever; it works rather well!





    This week’s prize includes tickets to see San Fermin at Whelan’s Dublin, on April 16th*. Along with these, there are albums by Broken Bells, Foals, Analogue Wave, plus two compilations – ‘The Organisation Of Pop’, and ‘The Art Of 12’ Vol 3’.

    The easy Question: One of the tracks featured on ‘The Organisation Of Pop’ by Art Of Noise is called...

    1. Moments On The Moon
    2. Moments In Love
    3. Moments In The Supermarket

    Email your name, postal address, & correct answer to [email protected]

    *You must be over 18 to attend the gig.


    This is a new feature on the show, that looks at albums from the past, which were overlooked, or have been swallowed up by time.

    ‘A Grand Love Story’ is French musician/producer/remixer Kid Loco’s second album, which he released in 1997. It’s sophisticated without being pretentious, simple yet not simplistic; an album that would sit well in just about any decade, but happily out of step with everything around it.


    Playlist - The Alternative (with Dan Hegarty) – Thursday, February 6


    Ian Brown - 'F.E.A.R.'
    MØ - 'Pilgrim'
    Elspeth - 'You're Mine'
    M83 - 'Midnight City'
    St Vincent – ‘Digital Witness’
    Primal Scream - 2013'
    Girl Band - 'Lawman’
    Zwan - 'Lyric'
    Warpaint – ‘Feeling Alright’
    The Frank & Walters - 'Fashion Crisis Hits New York'
    Land Lovers – ‘Vittima Di Cucina’
    Veruca Salt – ‘Seether’
    School Of Seven Bells – ‘Put Your Sad Down’

    Hour 2:

    Interpol – ‘Evil’
    Elbow – ‘New York Morning’
    Ramones – ‘Do You Remember Rock N Roll Radio?’
    The Revellions – ‘Sighs’
    Ben Lee – ‘Cigarettes Will Kill You’
    Will De Burca – ‘The Visions We Have Are Fading Away’
    Foals – ‘Spanish Sahara’
    Fox Jaw – Kerosene’
    Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds – ‘The Ship Song’

    Gossip live in Switzerland:
    ‘Standing In The Way Of Control’
    ‘Into The Wild’
    ‘Heavy Cross’

    Villagers – ‘The Waves’ (Jape Remix)

    Hour 3:

    Morrissey – ‘Suedehead’
    Broken Bells – ‘Control’
    Kavinsky (Feat: Lovefoxx) – ‘Nightcall’
    Bleeding Heart Pigeons – ‘Catharsis’
    San Fermin – ‘Sonsick’
    Beck – ‘Blue Moon’
    Kid Loco – ‘A Grand Love Theme’
    Prince & The Revolution – ‘When Doves Cry’
    I Am The Cosmos – ‘Look Me In The Eye’
    The Plague Monkeys – ‘Star Country’
    Tinariwen – ‘Emajer’
    August Wells – ‘Mr Sun’
    Jape (Feat: Conor O’Brien) – ‘Ribbon Ribbon Ribbon’

    Music Played on the Show

    • Title: Lyric
      Composer: Corgan
      Performer(s): Zwan
      Performer(s): Zwan
      Album: Mary Star of the Sea, Marthas Music/Reprise, 9362-48436-2
      Duration: 3:17
    • Title: Standing In The Way Of Control
      Composer: Gossip
      Performer(s): Gossip
      Performer(s): Gossip
      Album: Standing In the Way of Control, Live in Switzerland
      Duration: 4:15
    • Title: Into The Wild
      Composer: Ditto/Howdeshell/Blilie
      Performer(s): Gossip
      Performer(s): Gossip
      Album: A Joyful Noise, Columbia, 88691982652
      Duration: 3:11
    • Title: Heavy Cross
      Performer(s): Gossip
      Performer(s): Gossip
      Album: Music for Men (Deluxe Version)
      Duration: 4:17
    • Title: Emajer
      Composer: Alhabib, Ag
      Performer(s): Tinariwen
      Performer(s): Tinariwen
      Album: Emmaar, Wedge, Not Available
      Duration: 3:30
    • 23:57
      Title: Infinite Horizons
      Performer(s): God Is An Astronaut
      Performer(s): God Is An Astronaut
      Album: All Is Violent, All Is Bright (Remastered)
      Duration: 2:37

    Dan Hegarty - The Alternative

    Latest Show

    Programme Archive

    Dan Hegarty - The Alternative on Twitter

    Presenter: Dan Hegarty

    Schedule Open Schedule