Dan Hegarty - The Alternative

    RTE 2fm: Monday - Thursday (1am) & 2XM (10am to 1pm)

    Dan Hegarty - The Alternative Wednesday 29 January 2014


    Dan Hegarty - The Alternative

    The Alternative To Sleep! Alt Rock, Metal, Hip-Hop, Reggae, Electro, plus the RTE 2fm studio sessions, & live music from across Europe.


    This is a new feature on the show, that looks at albums from the past, which were overlooked, or have been swallowed up by time. The first is Dublin band Lir’s debut album ‘Magico Magico’. It was released in 1994 (with a US version of the album to follow in 1995), and saw the band gain much applause in Ireland and The US.


    Lir have always been touted as one of the best live acts that Ireland has ever produced, and this was captured on the US version of ‘Magico Magico’ in stunning fashion. Last year saw the release the documentary ‘Good Cake Bad Cake – The Story Of Lir’.




    From 'The Green' EP Bibio brings is this beautiful tune 'Dye The Water Green'.


    Limerick's Fox Jaw (formerly Fox Jaw Bounty Hunters) have always done things their own way, and thankfully that looks like continuing with this new single 'Kerosene'. They also bring us this slightly unsettling video too!


    Those mighty scots Mogwai are back with a new album 'Rave Tapes', and single 'The Lord Is Out Of Control'. Can they do any wrong? Not so far...


     'Don't Wanna Dance' is the new single from MØ.  It's taken from her debut album  ‘No Mythologies To Follow’ which will be released in Ireland on March 7th.


    The Mighty Stef keep knocking out quality tunes; 'Nightwatchman Of The Iveagh Flats' is the latest. 


    Stunning and beautiful are two of the first words that come to mind when listening to '(Moon)' the debut album from Snowbird. The duo is former Cocteau Twin Simon Raymonde, and Massive Attack and Chemical Brothers collaborator Stephanie Dosen. They come armed with some serious guests two; Ed O'Brien and Philip Selway from Radiohead, and members of Lanterns On The Lake and Midlake. Let's throw in another superlative; this is a wonderful album!


    Let's not get hung up on the fact that all three members of Wicklow's All The Luck In The World are under 20, but feel free to be swept away by their debut self-titled album. Recorded last Summer in Belgium, this album show a pedigree that is rarely heard on a debut album. It's tempting to use a play on words with their name, but let's just say that 2014 may be a year that will see ATLITW become a name that will very familiar to many people.


    Mutual Benefit's 'Love's Crushing Diamond' has already received the blessing of Pitchfork and The Guardian, and you can hear why when you hear what could be described as dreamy folk pop. Mutual Benefit is a one-man band made up by Brooklyn-based Jordan Lee, who clearly has a gift for penning powerful offbeat pop tunes. He makes it sound easy too, on what is a short yet extremely impressive album.




    Playlist - The Alternative (with Dan Hegarty) – Wednesday, January 29

    The National - 'Terrible Love'
    Fight Like Apes - 'Lend Me Your Face'
    Fountains Of Wayne – ‘Radiation Vibe’
    St. Vincent - 'Digital Witness'
    Jack White - 'Sixteen Saltiness'
    THEESatisfaction – ‘Queens’
    Jerry Fish (Feat: R.S.A.G.) – ‘Barefoot & Free’
    Broken Bells – ‘Holding On For Life’
    Hot Chip – ‘Over & Over’
    Steve Liriks - 'Designer Shoes’
    Rage Against The Machine - 'Know Your Enemies’
    Djaikovski (Feat: MC Wasp) – ‘Spin Off’
    Beck - 'Blue Moon’
    Ulrich Schnauss – ‘A Strangely Isolated Place’

    Hour 2:

    Arctic Monkeys – ‘One For The Road’
    Funeral Suits – ‘Colour Fade’
    Jessy Lanza – ‘Pull My Hair Back’
    Simple Kid - 'Hello’
    Tomas Barfod (Feat: Nina Kinert) – ‘Pulsing’
    Primal Scream – ‘Loaded’
    All The Luck In The World – ‘Settle’
    And So I watch You From Afar – ‘The Voiceless’

    Bouts’ Five-Track Shuffle:
    Weezer - "Say It Ain't So"
    Interpol – ‘Obstacle 1’
    Radiohead – ‘The Bends’
    Placebo – ‘Teenage Angst’
    Fleetwood Mac – ‘The Chain’

    Kurt Vile – ‘Wakin On A Pretty Day’

    Hour 3:

    Le Galaxie – ‘Lucy Is Here’
    CSS – ‘Let’s Make Love (& Listen To Death from Above)’ (Diplo Remix)
    MØ – ‘Don’t Wanna Dance’
    Bouts – ‘Jittery’
    C2C - 'Down The Road'
    Lir - 'Good Cake Bad Cake'
    Snowbird – ‘I Heard The Owl Call My Name’
    Gavin Friday – ‘The Slider’
    Jenny Wilson – ‘University Of My Soul’
    Pixies – ‘Indie Cindy’
    Millions Little Gods – ‘Need A Little’
    Mogwai – ‘The Lord Is Out Of Control’
    Mutual Benefit - 'Let’s Play/Statue Of A Man’
    God Is An Astronaut – ‘Remembrance’
    Toy – ‘Fall Out Of Love’

    Music Played on the Show

    • Title: Get Up
      Composer: Young Fathers
      Performer(s): Young Fathers
      Performer(s): Young Fathers
      Album: Dead, Big Dada Recordings
      Duration: 4:18
    • Title: Teenage Angst
      Composer: Placebo
      Performer(s): Placebo
      Performer(s): Placebo
      Album: Placebo, Hut Records/virgin
      Duration: 2:42
    • Title: Pull My Hair Back
      Composer: Lanza/Greenspan
      Performer(s): Jessy Lanza
      Performer(s): Jessy Lanza
      Album: Pull My Hair Back, hyperdub, HDPCD019
      Duration: 3:50

    Dan Hegarty - The Alternative

    Latest Show

    Programme Archive

    Dan Hegarty - The Alternative on Twitter

    Presenter: Dan Hegarty

    Schedule Open Schedule