Dan Hegarty - The Alternative

    RTE 2fm: Monday - Thursday (1am) & 2XM (10am to 1pm)

    Dan Hegarty - The Alternative Tuesday 21 January 2014


    Dan Hegarty - The Alternative

    The Alternative To Sleep! Alt Rock, Metal, Hip-Hop, Reggae, Electro, plus the RTE 2fm studio sessions, & live music from across Europe.



    He was the voice of Blink throughout the 1990s and early 2000's, but more recently, Dermot Lambert has been working as a solo artist.


    Adding to a catalogue of songs that include 'Cello', 'It's Not My Fault', and 'Planet Made Of Rain', Lambert's revolving cast of collaborators have helped him create his debut solo album 'Tiny'. He performs tracks from this in Session for Dan.





    Dan has tracks from the three new Albums Of The Week for you on The Alternative this week. First is the second album from Warpaint; a confident second album from the US group. Here’s a preview from Chris Cunningham's Film project featuring ‘Love Is To Die’ from the new album ‘Warpaint’ Cunningham spent two years filming and photographing the band as they made new the new album.



    Rumblings about The Gloaming have been circulating for quite some time. Call them a supergroup if you like; The Gloaming is made up by Iarla O’Lionaird, Thomas Bartlett, Dennis Cahill, Martin Hayes, and Caoimhin O’Raghallaigh. Simply put, their self-titled debut is a beautiful collection of pieces of music; breathtaking perhaps.



    After releasing one of the best albums of 2011, I Break Horses are back with ‘Chiaroscuro’. “Electronic shoegaze” is a term that has come up recently, and is pretty apt. It’s quite different to their debut, in the sense that they’ve opted for electronic over guitar. An album that could quite easily ignite the masses.



    The man who brought us tunes like ‘The New Pollution’, ‘Lost Cause’, and Loser’ is back with new material. The album ‘Morning Phase’ will be with us on February 21, and if the single ‘Blue Moon’ is any indication; this is going to be another classic album from Mr Hansen. It’s his first album since 2008, so keep your fingers crossed for live dates.



    Playlist - The Alternative (with Dan Hegarty) - Tuesday, January 21


    The Stone Roses - 'Love Spreads'
    The Hot Sprockets - 'Soul Brother'
    The White Stripes - 'The Hardest Button To Button' (Beck Remix)
    Beck - 'Blue Moon'
    Beck - 'Lost Cause’
    Deltron 3030 - 'City Rising From The Ashes’
    Cat Dowling - 'Somebody Else' (Elaine Mai Remix)
    R.E.M. (Feat: Patti Smith) – ‘Blue’
    Tinariwen - 'Toumast Tincha’
    The Doors - 'Riders On The Storm'
    I Break Horses – ‘Disclosure’
    School Of Seven Bells – ‘Put Your Sad Down’

    Hour 2:

    Blur - 'Tracy Jacks’
    Damon Albarn - 'Everyday Robots'
    alt-J – ‘Fitzpleasure’
    a.dj – ‘Save The Children (America)’
    Dermot Lambert – ‘Disused Roads’ (Session)
    Yeah Yeah Yeahs – ‘Mosquito’
    Husky Rescue – ‘They Are Coming’
    Davila 666 – ‘Obsesionao’
    The Kinks – ‘You Really Got Me’
    Warpaint – ‘Drive’
    UNKLE – ‘Eye For An Eye’
    Gaz Coombes – ‘Buffalo’
    Nina Hynes – ‘This Magic Stuff’
    Stano – ‘Memory Distorts A Life’

    Hour 3:

    INXS – ‘Need You Tonight’
    Madrugada – ‘I Don’t Fit’
    Dermot Lambert – ‘Love Rainbows’ (Session)
    Lefties Soul Connection (Feat: Michelle David) – ‘Shake It Up, Burn It Loose’
    Kitty, Daisy & Lewis – ‘(Baby) Hold me Tight’
    The Animators (Feat: Hypnotic Brass Ensemble) – ‘Those Were The Days’
    Blueprint – ‘So Alive’
    Tom Vek – ‘CC (You Put The Fire In Me’
    Dermot Lambert – ‘Move On’ (Session)
    Liz Green – ‘Where The River Don’t Flow’
    The Gloaming – ‘Allistrum’s March’
    Pink Floyd – ‘Us And Them’
    Mineral – ‘Atoms’

    Music Played on the Show

    • Title: Blue Moon
      Composer: Not Available
      Performer(s): Beck
      Performer(s): Beck
      Album: Morning Phase, Capitol Records, Not Available
      Duration: 4:14
    • Title: Tomast Tincha
      Composer: N/A
      Performer(s): Tinariwen
      Performer(s): Tinariwen
      Album: Emmaar, Pias
      Duration: 3:56
    • Title: Disused Roads
      Composer: N/A
      Performer(s): Dermot Lambert
      Performer(s): Dermot Lambert
      Album: Tiny, 2fm session
      Duration: 4:02
    • Title: Love Rainbows
      Composer: N/A
      Performer(s): Dermot Lambert
      Performer(s): Dermot Lambert
      Album: Tiny, 2fm session
      Duration: 4:02
    • Title: Move On
      Composer: N/A
      Performer(s): Dermot Lambert
      Performer(s): Dermot Lambert
      Duration: 4:02

    Dan Hegarty - The Alternative

    Latest Show

    Programme Archive

    Dan Hegarty - The Alternative on Twitter

    Presenter: Dan Hegarty

    Schedule Open Schedule