Dan Hegarty - The Alternative

    RTE 2fm: Monday - Thursday (1am) & 2XM (10am to 1pm)

    Dan Hegarty - The Alternative Monday 19 August 2013


    Dan Hegarty - The Alternative

    CAT DOWLING IN THE RTE 2FM SESSION The Alternative To Sleep! Alt Rock, Metal, Hip-Hop, Reggae, Electro, plus the RTE 2fm studio sessions, & live music from across Europe.


    Cat Dowling writes beautifully dark pop songs. Her voice has been lauded as one of the most wonderful and evocative in Irish contemporary music. Her husky and achingly intimate vocals will draw you in from the outset. The acclaimed Irish singer, songwriter and performer previously fronted Babelfish and Alphastates. She released her debut solo album ‘The Believer’ in May. Hear her in session on The Alternative.


    Playlist - The Alternative (with Dan Hegarty) – Monday, August 19


    Gorillaz (Feat: Bobby Womack) - 'Stylo'
    The Hot Sprockets - 'Soul Brother'
    Veruca Salt - 'Volcano Girl'
    The Doors - 'Break On Through (To The Other Side)'
    MØ - 'Waste Of Time'
    Whale - 'Hobo Humpin’ Slobo Babe’
    Yppah (Feat: Anomie Belle) – ‘Three Portraits’
    Sex Pistols - 'Pretty Vacant'
    Kid Karate - 'This City’
    Mystery Jets - 'Greatest Hits'
    Disposable Heroes Of Hiphoprisy – ‘Television The Drug Of The Nation’
    God Is An Astronaut – ‘Spiral Code’
    The Phoenix Foundation – ‘Friendly Society’

    Hour 2:

    The Frank & Walters - 'Fashion Crisis Hits New York'
    Grizzly Bear – ‘Yet Again’
    Young Wonder - 'To You'
    Stevie Wonder - 'Higher Ground’
    Monophona – ‘Unfold’
    Ghostpoet – ‘Dial Tones’
    Alarmist Vs Owensie – ‘Little Sign’ (Bantum Remix)
    Cat Dowling – ‘Somebody Else’ (Session)
    Garbage – ‘Only Happy When It Rains’
    No Age – ‘I Won’t Be Your Generator’
    The Orb (Feat: Lee Scratch Perry) – ‘Golden Clouds’
    The Orb – ‘Little Fluffy Clouds’
    GEM_DOS – ‘Embrace The Fear’
    Low – ‘Nothing But Heart’

    Hour 3:

    We Cut Corners – ‘Go Easy’
    Johnny Cash – ‘San Quentin’
    Linnea Olsen – ‘It’s OK’
    Whipping Boy – ‘A Natural’
    Cat Dowling – ‘The Believer’ (Session)
    Low Sea – ‘Afflictions Of Love’
    Primal Scream – ‘Come Together’
    Primal Scream – ‘Elimination Blues’
    Cat Dowling – ‘The Well Runs Dry’ (Session)
    Darkstar – ‘Time Away’
    John Grant – ‘Black Belt’
    Ashley MacIsaac – ‘Sleepy Maggie’
    Justice – ‘Audio, Video, Disco’
    White Collar Boy – ‘SUUU’ (Simon Bird Remix)


    Dan Hegarty - The Alternative

    Latest Show

    Programme Archive

    Dan Hegarty - The Alternative on Twitter

    Presenter: Dan Hegarty

    Schedule Open Schedule