Dan Hegarty - The Alternative

    RTE 2fm: Monday - Thursday (1am) & 2XM (10am to 1pm)

    Dan Hegarty - The Alternative Tuesday 14 May 2013


    Dan Hegarty - The Alternative

    JOHNNY CASH - BACK & FORTH The Alternative To Sleep! Alt Rock, Metal, Hip-Hop, Reggae, Electro, plus the RTE 2fm studio sessions, & live music from across Europe.


    We’ve three gems for you this week, the debut album from The Child Of Love, Enemies’ second long player, and Primal Scream’s tenth studio album. Even getting to the stage where you’re released ten albums is a major achievement these days. ‘More Light’ is strong album, mixing the band’s electronic side with their retro tendencies.

    ‘Embark, Embrace’ finds Enemies in buoyant form, adding vocals to their mix. If you like their previous album ‘We’ve Been Talking’, you’ll be into this. It’s almost three years since they released their debut, and ‘Embark, Embrace’ sees them making a considerable jump forward.

    The Child Of Lov’s self-titled album is going to be one the debuts of the year for me. It’s one of those albums that twists and turns, never sticking to any particular formula – it’s a keeper!




    Playlist - The Alternative (with Dan Hegarty) – Tuesday, May 14


    Beck – ‘Loser’
    The Hot Sprockets – ‘Soul Brother’
    Tame Impala – ‘Solitude Is Bliss’
    Savages – ‘Strife’
    The Stone Roses – ‘Waterfall’
    In Valour – ‘Into The Light’
    Vampire Weekend – ‘Worship You’
    Tone Loc – ‘Funky Cold Medina’
    The Child Of Lov – ‘Fly’
    Foo Fighters – ‘White Limo’
    The Jimi Hendrix Experience – ‘Fire’
    Vanilla Gloom – ‘Vultures’
    Portishead – ‘Sour Times’
    The Flaming Lips & Erykah Badu – ‘The First Time I Saw Your Face’

    Hour 2:

    Elvis Presley – ‘A Little Less Conversation’
    Primal Scream – ‘Sideman’
    Steve Mason – ‘Fight Them Back’
    Beastie Boys – ‘Shake Your Rump’
    Little Dragon – ‘Ritual Union’
    Nanu Nanu – ‘The Gift’
    M83 – ‘Midnight City’
    The Orb – ‘Oxbow Lakes’
    Jagwar Ma – ‘The Throw’
    AC/DC – ‘Rock N Roll Ain’t Noise Pollution’
    Enemies (Feat: Heathers) – ‘Nighthawks’
    Radiohead – ‘The Bends’
    Atoms For Peace – ‘Stuck Together Pieces’
    Easy Star All-Stars (Feat: Kirtsy Rock) – ‘Paranoid Android’

    Hour 3:

    Siouxsie & The Banshees – ‘Hong Kong Garden’
    Editors – ‘The Weight Of Your Love’
    Kerbdog – ‘Mexican Wave’
    Rage Against The Machine – ‘Bullet In The Head’
    Lethal Dialect – ‘Til Infinity’
    Nightmares On Wax – ‘Les Nuits’
    Solar Bears – ‘Love Is All’

    Johnny Cash – Back & Forth:
    ‘One Piece At A Time’
    ‘Rusty Cage’
    ‘San Quentin’
    The Man Comnes Around’

    Halves – ‘Mountain Bell’


    Dan Hegarty - The Alternative

    Latest Show

    Programme Archive

    Dan Hegarty - The Alternative on Twitter

    Presenter: Dan Hegarty

    Schedule Open Schedule