Dan Hegarty - The Alternative

    RTE 2fm: Monday - Thursday (1am) & 2XM (10am to 1pm)

    Dan Hegarty - The Alternative Wednesday 17 April 2013


    Dan Hegarty - The Alternative

    LEO ABRAHAMS' FIVE-TRACK SHUFFLE The Alternative To Sleep! Alt Rock, Metal, Hip-Hop, Reggae, Electro, plus the RTE 2fm studio sessions, & live music from across Europe.


    If you haven’t come across Leo Abrahams’ music yet, prepare to be blown away! The Londoner has collaborated with a who's who of musicians, including Brian Eno, Jarvis Cocker, Baba Maal, and David Holmes. His 2007 album ‘The Unrest Cure’ was feature a lot on The Alternative, and Abrahams has just released the ‘Zero Sum’ EP. This week’s Five-Track Shuffle tunes come to you courtesy of Mr Abrahams.



    We have three Albums Of The Week for your listening pleasure. ‘Mosquito’ is the latest album from Yeah Yeah Yeahs. To say that this has been eagerly anticipated might just be an understatement!

    ‘No Way To Know Why’ is Fallen Rule’s debut album. In the truest sense of the description, this is an album that encompasses the spirit of acts like Jesus & Mary Chain, MC5, and The Brian Jonestown Massacre.

    There is a familiar sound from Kurt Vile’s album ‘Wakin On A Pretty Daze’. This isn’t a criticism, quite the contrary! This is an album that may stick with you for many, many years.





    We have two prize packs consisting of the following to give away:

    The Prize: A pair of weekend tickets to The Camden Crawl Dublin (Saturday, May 4, & Sunday, May 5), & albums by Phoenix, David Long, & Dog Is Dead.

    The Question: The 2013 Camden Crawl festival takes place in Dublin for the first or second time?

    Email your name, postal address, & correct answer to dan@rte.ie

    Playlist - The Alternative (with Dan Hegarty) – Wednesday, April 17


    Rage Against The Machine – ‘Bulls On Parade’
    Camera Obscura – ‘Do It Again’
    R.E.M. – Lotus’
    Nanu Nanu – ‘Pocket Of Gold’
    Stevie Wonder – ‘Suprestition’
    The Cast Of Cheers – ‘Marso Sava’
    Jane’s Addiction – ‘Just Because’
    Fujiya & Miyagi – ‘Sixteen Shades Of Black & Blue’
    Fever Ray – ‘Triangle Walks’ (Rex The Dog Edit)
    alt-J – ‘Matilda’
    The Last Monroes – ‘Dirt N Glass’
    The Jimi Hendrix Experience – ‘Fire’
    School Of Seven Bells – ‘Put Your Sad Down’

    Hour 2:

    The Raconteurs – ‘Steady As She Goes’
    The Hot Sprockets – ‘Soul Brother’
    Dengue Fever – ‘Mr Bubbles’
    The Doors – ‘Love Street’
    Yeah Yeah Yeahs – ‘Wedding Song’
    Scala & Kolacny Brothers – ‘Dream On’
    Depeche Mode – ‘Stripped’
    Depeche Mode – ‘Slow’
    Emperor Of Icecream – ‘Know Me’
    Chelsea Wolfe – ‘Our Work Was Good’
    Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds – ‘We Real Cool’
    Tricky (Feat: Martina Topley-Bird) – ‘Black Steel’
    Fallen Rule – ‘333’
    Massive Attack – ‘Antistar’

    Hour 3:

    Fionn Regan – ‘The Underwood Typewriter’
    Bombino – ‘Imidiwan’
    Smashing Pumpkins – ‘Rhinoceros’
    Ghost Estates – ‘In Waves’
    Suuns – ‘Bambi’

    Leo Abrahams’ Five-Track Shuffle:
    MGMT - 'Kids'
    The Books – ‘Enjoy Your Worries You May Never Have Them Again’
    David Byrne – ‘Glass Concrete And Stone’
    College & Electric Youth – ‘A Real Hero’
    Bee Gees – ‘You Win Again’

    Leo Abrahams – ‘Sleep Here’
    Kurt Vile – ‘Pure Pain’
    The Vincent(s) – ‘Asked Her To Dance’
    Mark Lanegan Band – ‘Tiny Grain Of Truth’


    Dan Hegarty - The Alternative

    Latest Show

    Programme Archive

    Dan Hegarty - The Alternative on Twitter

    Presenter: Dan Hegarty

    Schedule Open Schedule