Dan Hegarty - The Alternative

    RTE 2fm: Monday - Thursday (1am) & 2XM (10am to 1pm)

    Dan Hegarty - The Alternative Thursday 11 April 2013



    Ahead of their biggest Irish headline tour to date, Dan will have highlights from Mumford & Sons' set from last October at Sydney Entertainment Centre. Billed as 'Gentlemen of the Road, Mumford & Sons will be joined by Ben Howard, The Vaccines, and Edward Sharpe & The Magnetic Zeros at Phoenix Park on July 14th.

    Since forming in late 2007, it wouldn't be an exaggeration to say that Mumford & Sons have hardly been off the touring circuit. This set was recorded at Sydney Entertainment Centre, Sydney, on October 18, 2012 by ABC – Triple J (Australia) for the Eurosonic Partnership of the EBU.




    The band that we once knew as Dry Couty are back with their second album. ‘Safety In Numbers’ certainly doesn’t hide in the crowd; it’s a big step forward from what was and still is an acomplished debut album. The tracks on this album have the potential to be immense live.

    ‘Under An East Coast Moon’ is an album by Rob Gallagher (Gilles Peterson’s long-time collaborator) under the name William Adamson. You may remember Gallagher from his days with the much-loved Galliano. People that like to pigeonhole music are going to struggle with this one; in musical terms ‘Under An East Coast Moon’ is very much a free spirit.



    Playlist - The Alternative (with Dan Hegarty) – Thursday, April 11


    C2C – ‘Down The Road’
    Santigold – ‘L.E.S. Artistes’
    Luscious Jackson – ‘Naked Eye’
    I’m Your Vinyl – ‘For You’
    AC/DC – ‘Thunderstruck’
    Sons & Daughters – ‘Ink Free’
    Crystal Castles – ‘Mercenary’
    Unknown Mortal Orchestra – ‘Little Blu House’
    Them – ‘Baby Please Don’t Go’
    Death Hawks – ‘How Dark Was The Land’
    Fighting With Wire – ‘I Won’t Let You Down’
    U2 – ‘Zooropa’
    The Flaming Lips – ‘You Lust’

    Hour 2:

    The Flaming Lips – ‘Yoshimi Battles The Pink Robots Pt 1’
    West Street Mob – ‘Breakdance Electric Boogie’
    The Child Of Lov – ‘Fly’
    Enemies (Feat: Conor Adams) – ‘Executive Cut’
    M.I.A. – ‘Born Free’
    Alias Empire – ‘December’
    Carried By Waves – ‘Sleepless’
    Primal Scream – ‘It’s Alright, It’s OK’
    The Gaslamp Killer (Feat: RSI) – ‘Meat Guilt’
    My Bloody Valentine – ‘Soon’
    Sundernix – ‘Siddhartha Highway’
    Virgin Prunes – ‘Baby Turns Blue’ (Director’s Cut)
    Underworld – ‘Bigmouth’

    Hour 3:

    The Jimi Hendrix Experience – ‘Foxy Lady’
    The Spikes – ‘Terrible Error’
    PJ Harvey – ‘Written On The Forehead’
    Williams Anderson – ‘Poacher’
    The Lemonheads – ‘Into Your Arms’
    The Unusual History Of Ether – ‘Innate’
    Bjorn Baillie – ‘The Noise We’ll Make’

    Mumford & Sons live at Sydney Entertainment Centre:
    ‘Whispers In The Dark’
    ‘The Cave’
    ‘The Chain’

    Fleet Foxes – ‘White Winter Hymnal’
    Atoms For Peace – ‘Default’
    Dirty Beaches – ‘Phases’
    Godspeed You Black Emperor – ‘Mladic’


    Dan Hegarty - The Alternative

    Latest Show

    Programme Archive

    Dan Hegarty - The Alternative on Twitter

    Presenter: Dan Hegarty

    Schedule Open Schedule