Dan Hegarty - The Alternative

    RTE 2fm: Monday - Thursday (1am) & 2XM (10am to 1pm)

    Dan Hegarty - The Alternative Thursday 4 April 2013


    Dan Hegarty - The Alternative

    The Alternative To Sleep! Alt Rock, Metal, Hip-Hop, Reggae, Electro, plus the RTE 2fm studio sessions, & live music from across Europe.


    Matthew E. White is an American songwriter, producer, arranger, and founder of the Spacebomb label. He's also the man behind an album called 'Big Inner', which has received critical acclaim from just about every source that an artist these days could wish for.

    This set was recorded at the Antigel Festival, Geneva on January 29th for the Eurosonic Partnership of The EBU.




    The Waterford-based Liverpudlian/Bosnian two-piece have already made a name for themselves, but their new album 'Remote Viewing' is set to bring this to a much higher level. With the help of the renowned Stephen Hague (who's worked with Pet Shop Boys, New Order, Afro Celt Sound System, PIL, Sparks, etc.), Low Sea's brand of 'Narcotic Pop' will impress just about anyone.

    'II' from Finland's K-X-P has been out a while, but it's too good to pass over without some sort of nod to its quality. It may not come as a shock to learn that this is K-X-P's second album, but what will surprise you is this how they've managed to create a sound that is quite different to nearly everything else that is around at the moment.



    Playlist - The Alternative (with Dan Hegarty) – Thursday, April 4

    Bjork – ‘Big Time Sensuality’
    Justice – ‘Civilization’
    AC/DC – ‘TNT’
    The Hot Sprockets – ‘Soul Brother’
    Veruca salt – ‘Seether’
    Grimes – ‘Genesis’
    The Last Shadow Puppets – ‘The Age Of The Understatement’
    Nanu Nanu – ‘Pocket Of Gold’
    Sigur Ros – ‘Hoppipolla’
    Steve Mason – ‘Fight Them Back’
    Ryan Adams – ‘New York New York’
    Johnny Cash – ‘San Quentin’
    Battles – ‘Atlas’
    Foals – ‘My Number’ (Hot Chip Remix)

    Hour 2:

    The Beatles – ‘Tomorrow Never Knows’
    K-X-P – ‘Flags & Crosses’
    Whipping Boy – ‘Twinkle’
    Kvelettak – ‘Bruane Brenn’
    Alice In Chains – ‘All Secrets Known’
    Enemies (Feat: Conor Adams) – ‘Executive Cut’
    Jimmy Cliff – ‘The Harder They Come’
    Ghostpoet – ‘Meltdown’
    XTC – ‘Senses Working Overtime’
    Madu – ‘We Are Many’
    DJ Shadow – ‘Building Steam With A Grain Of Salt’
    The Orb (Feat: Dave Gilmore) – ‘Metallic Side’

    Hour 3:

    Elvis Presley – ‘A Little Less Conversation’
    Primal Scream – ‘It’s Alright, It’s OK’
    The Pond – ‘The River’
    Sleep Thieves – ‘Oceans’
    Melody’s Echo Chamber – ‘I Follow You’
    BP Fallon – ‘The War To Fight For Love’

    Matthew E. White live at The Antigel Festival:
    ‘Gone Away’
    ‘I’ll Be Home’

    VerseChorusVerse – ‘Inches From A Fairytale’
    Drop Nineteens – ‘My Hotel Deb’
    Low Sea – ‘Starlight’
    Spiritualized – ‘I Think I’m In Love’

    Dan Hegarty - The Alternative

    Latest Show

    Programme Archive

    Dan Hegarty - The Alternative on Twitter

    Presenter: Dan Hegarty

    Schedule Open Schedule